The Midwest has emerged as one of the most promising startup communities in the world. each year, ventureohio hosts the top entrepreneurs and innovators who are putting ohio on the map. please save the date for our sixth annual venturedinner on september 17, 2020. 

VentureDinner Gallery



The 2019 VentureDinner was a night to remember. Hosted by Candice Matthews-Brackeen (Hillman Accelerator) and Branden Jones (BLKhack), attendees from across the Midwest gathered to celebrate award winners Alex Frommeyer (Entrepreneur of the Year) Suzy Bureau and Will Lucas (Catalysts of the Year), Clarigent Health (Seed-stage Company of the Year), SHARE (Early Stage Company of the Year) and ScriptDrop (Growth Stage Company of the Year). Presenters and panelists included Ohio Lt. Governor Jon Husted, Columbus City Council President Shannon Hardin, Rob McDonald (The Brandery), Cassie Dickerson (The Ohio State University), Baiju Shah (The Cleveland Foundation), Jason Warner (GitHub), Dan Manges (Root Insurance), Matt Scantland (CoverMyMeds), Anna Mason (Rise of the Rest), Amelia Gandara (Nationwide Ventures) and Bernie Moreno (Bernie Moreno Companies). The evening ended with a surprise Morgenthaler Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Rich Langdale (NCT Ventures) by Mark Kvamme (Drive Capital) on behalf of the VentureOhio board.


The 2018 VentureDinner, hosted at COSI, brought together over 600 of Ohio’s top entrepreneurs and investors for a special evening of celebration. The 2018 VentureDinner debuted the inaugural Watchlist, identifying Ohio’s top 50 startups to watch and SafeChain, Genetesis and Root Insurance took home top honors for Startup of the Year in their respective categories. The coveted Entrepreneur of the Year award went to three outstanding serial entrepreneurs: Mike Triplett, Pam Springer and Charlie Key. Our 2018 Catalyst of the Year award was a three-way tie with Hillman Accelerator, StartInCLE and BLK hack teams taking home hardware for their outstanding achievements in advancing entrepreneurship, diversity and inclusion. 2018’s speaker lineup was our best yet featuring Mark Kvamme, Rich Langdale, JD Vance, Steve McDermid, Wendy Lea, Cathy Belk, Heather Whaling, Stephen White, Andrew Deye and Secretary of State Jon Husted. It was a night to remember and we are beyond grateful to the sponsors, attendees, honorees and speakers who made it special. Thank you!


The 2017 VentureDinner brought nearly 550 community leaders together to strengthen relationships and celebrate successes. VentureOhio President Rich Langdale (NCT Ventures) kicked off the evening by paying homage to the Ohio venture capitalists and entrepreneurs who paved the way for future generations. Next, VentureOhio Chairman Mark Kvamme (Drive Capital) inspired and educated the audience with his profound presentation on the Fourth Wave of Computing. Finally, Marianne Hudson (Angel Capital Association) provided a first look at the American Angel study with a special focus on women investors. Our 2017 award recipients represented a variety of industries and cities and included Matt Scantland (Entrepreneur), Charles Stack (Catalyst), Genetesis (Seed Stage Company) Enable Injections (Early Stage Company), Updox (Growth Stage Company) and CoverMyMeds (Exit of the Year). Presenters included David Willbrand (Thompson Hine), Sue Zazon (Huntington), Ray Leach (JumpStart), Jon Husted (Secretary of State), Falon Donohue (VentureOhio) and a recorded presentation from Senator Sherrod Brown (United States).

Download Program PDF

The 2016 VentureDinner brought together over 400 investors, entrepreneurs and community leaders in Downtown Columbus. From the cocktail hour, to speeches including NVCA’s CEO Bobby Franklin, to the awards and a jam-packed after party with live music; it was a night to remember. VentureOhio honored three individuals for their outstanding entrepreneurship, leadership and civic contributions: Matt Scantland, Ryan Frederick and Don Wright. VentureOhio also honored five outstanding companies including T-Pro Solutions, remesh, ConXus, DOmedia and Assurex Health.

Download Program PDF

The second annual VentureDinner brought together over 300 entrepreneurs, investors and supporters from across the state at the Hilton in downtown Columbus. VentureOhio honored four companies, Airway Therapeutics, Ahalogy, Assurex Health, and TOA Technologies, as winners in their respective financing and exit categories. Nineteen outstanding companies were nominated for awards.

Download Program PDF

The inaugural VentureDinner brought the Ohio venture and startup community together for the first time when more than 200 attendees gathered at the Blackwell Inn. VO’s founding President, Frank Samuel, served as host for the evening  and the inaugural VentureReport was debuted. Four outstanding companies were honored including Nextronex, LISNR, TOA Technologies and Akebia Therapeutics. Our first Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to venture capital legend David Morgenthaler and subsequently named in his honor.



Thank you for supporting VentureOhio and Ohio entrepreneurship. We couldn’t do this without you!

Thank you to our 2019 Sponsors